Skip to content
zucchini pasta

Have you been doing your best to stay away from pasta and other processed grains? Do you miss them? I do too. Of course, I indulge every once in a while with the real thing but I love to experiment with pasta alternatives.  This dish is a tangy experiment gone really well. Not to mention, one cup of cooked zucchini has over a quarter of your daily manganese! What’s manganese and why should I have it in my diet? It’s a vital mineral that aids in digestion, bone health, and brain function.

I shaved the zucchini into large linguini-type strips with a handheld peeler. I quickly blanched the zucchini strips and dressed them with a champagne vinegar and lemon dressing. Yum!

zucchini pasta

serves 6

Ingredients:

4 large zucchini

zest of one lemon

1 lemon – juiced

¼ cup champagne vinegar

1 cloves garlic minced

handful of fresh Italian parsley finely chopped

Directions:

Cut the ends off the zucchini then shave into strips with a handheld peeler.

For the dressing: mix the lemon juice, zest, champagne vinegar, garlic, and parsley.

Quickly dip the zucchini strips into boiling water for about 2 minutes.  Strain and toss with the dressing.

Enjoy

Time: ~15 min

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. whaaa?! I’m very intrigued… garlic, lemon and zucchini, though. I can’t see how it could possibly be bad. I’m curious what kind of protein would go with this…

    July 28, 2011
    • Protein reveled! Roasted Whole Herb Chicken …a nice pairing, if I do say so myself 😉

      August 2, 2011

Leave a Reply

