Skip to content
Paleo Ginger Snap Cookies

Sometimes you just need a cookie.  Sometimes I just need a ginger snap cookie. They remind me of my childhood. This paleo cookie is made with coconut flour. Baking with coconut flour can be a fun adventure. It’s easy to work with and great for cookie experiments. It’s extremely dense but, I believe, comes the closest to resembling wheat flour.

This cookie doesn’t rise or crisp. It’s more like, a paleo ginger snap snack. They’re great for kids and the healthy eater on the go.

I added Truvia (a natural calorie-free sweetener) but feel free to leave it out or sweeten with whatever you like.

Approximate Nutrition Facts:

Serving size: 1 cookie

70 Calories; 6 g Fat; 1.6 g Protein; 0 g Sugar

Paleo Ginger Snap Cookies

Adapted from Chocolate & Carrots.

Makes Approximately 25 Cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup coconut flour

½ cup melted coconut oil

½ cup unsweetened almond milk

4 eggs

1 Tbl Truvia (stevia)

2 tsp ground ginger

1 ½ tsp ground cinnamon

½ tsp ground cloves

½ tablespoon vanilla extract

pinch of sea salt

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350.

Line baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

In a mixing bowl, whisk all the wet ingredients together. This includes the melted coconut oil, almond milk, eggs, and vanilla.

In a different mixing bowl, whisk all the dry ingredients together. This includes the coconut flour, Truvia, cinnamon, cloves, and sea salt.

Pour the wet ingredients in with the dry. Stir until combined. It’s going to get a little sticky so I suggest mixing with a wooden spoon.

Scoop approximately one Tbl size pieces away. Roll with your hands to form balls and place on the parchment paper.

Coat the back of a metal soup-spoon with a little coconut oil and use it to smash the balls into flattened disks.

Bake for approximately 20 minutes or until they’re slightly browned.

Enjoy!

Time: 45 minutes

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. MM #

    Man, this recipe was not good. Pretty bland is how I’d describe them and also dry. I followed the recipe to the letter, but looking at it again, I think maybe you listed the wrong amount of truvia to use (did you mean 1 cup instead of 1 tablespoon?)

    December 11, 2012
    • Thank you for your feedback and for trying the recipe! I’m always actively improving my recipes. I’ll experiment with a different flour (almond instead of coconut) that should help with the dryness. I’ll also experiment with more sweetener. To help me better understand, did you think they were bland because they weren’t sweet enough or because they didn’t have enough ginger flavor?

      December 13, 2012
  2. Lisa #

    I think these were terrific! I took the advice of the other person who commented that these cookies were bland. I used 3/4 cup of coconut sugar instead. I tasted the dough to be sure the flavorvwasnjust right…it was! The dough is very moist and a little challenging to roll so just formed them into cookie like shapes and baked for 15 minutes. They are a very soft cookie with amazing ginger flavor. Thanks for the recipe!

    May 8, 2013
    • Hi Lisa! I’m so glad you liked them!! I’ll remake the recipe with the modification and then update the post 🙂 thanks so much!!

      May 9, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Paleo Spicy Gingerbread Cookies | Fed and Fit

Leave a Reply

