Skip to content
Baked Tomato & Egg Breakfast

No matter how early I wake up, my mornings always seem rushed. What are my morning non-negotiables? CrossFit (when I’m home), love on Gus, find something not embarrassing to wear (80% success rate), and eat breakfast.

When fixing breakfast, my requirements are … #1 paleo (need to start the day off right), #2 filling, and #3 QUICK. Sounds pretty simple, but when you’re in a rush, it can be a tall order. I have to fight the urge to just defer my breakfast until the Starbuck’s drive through – their Spinach & Feta Egg White Wraps are DELISH.

Because I workout in the mornings, it’s especially important for me to refuel my body properly to insure fast recovery and efficient muscle health.

This baked tomato and egg breakfast is a staple in my house. Don’t be intimidated by the cook time. All you have to do is prep and pop in the oven. Then you’ve got ~30 minutes to shower, feed the fish, and finish cleaning before the house cleaner gets there (guilty).

These little tomato and egg treats are soul and tummy filling. I eat mine along side some fresh crispy bacon and seasonal berries with almond butter.

Enjoy!

Gus & his sister, June, enjoying the cool November morning air:

This one usually takes up most of my morning time. It’s impossible to resist this face …even when he’s filthy.

Baked Tomato & Egg Breakfast

Approximate Nutrition Facts:

Serving size: 2 Stuffed Tomatoes

Makes 1

186 Calories; 10 g Fat; 14 g Protein; 6 g Sugar

Ingredients:

2 Medium/Large Fresh Tomatoes

2 Large Eggs

1 tsp Fresh Italian Parsley

Sea Salt & Cracked Black Pepper to Taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil.

Cut the tops of the tomatoes off.

With a spoon (I like to use a serrated grapefruit spoon), spoon out all the tomato innards.

Crack an egg in each hallowed-out tomato.

Bake at 350 F for 30 minutes.

Let cool for a few minutes.

Dust with minced parsley, salt & pepper then enjoy!

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: 30 minutes

23 Comments Post a comment
  1. michelledvk #

    Oooh I made this once. Soooo yummy. Thanks for the reminder! 🙂

    November 16, 2012
  2. withlovedeidrelee #

    That looks awesome, I’ll have to try it!

    November 16, 2012
  3. Tammy #

    How do the yolks turn out with this cook time? Or they hard or runny?

    February 7, 2013
    • They’re mostly runny. If you like your eggs hard instead of over easy, add about 5 minutes to the cook time. Hope you enjoy!

      February 7, 2013
  4. Linda Kaye #

    This was delicious!!! Thank you!!

    March 23, 2013
  5. Ashton #

    This tasted great! I topped it with a little basil since I’m not a huge parsley fan and it was good! You’re recipes are inspiring and I’m so glad I was recommended to your site. Makes healthy eating more interesting. Thank you!

    August 20, 2013
  6. marie walters #

    Do you leave the lid of the tomato on over egg? In the picture it looks lie it has been cooked.

    September 19, 2013
    • I did bake the tomato tops in in this picture (good eye), but placed them beside the eggs instead of on top. I baked them more for consistency in texture for my photos. Since then, I usually just throw them away before baking. The eggs cook uncovered in the tomato. Hope that helps!

      September 19, 2013
  7. Anna #

    I just made this! Cooked it for 35mins and added hot sauce, olive oil, a little cheese and garlic. Yummy!!!

    September 19, 2013
  8. Kathleen Keillor #

    These look awesome and we can’t wait to try this with the last of our garden tomatoes!
    Are your gorgeous and adorable dogs Labrodoodles?

    September 21, 2013
    • Hi Kathleen! They’re actually Great Pyrenees. They were only about 5 months old in those pictures 🙂

      September 23, 2013
  9. GS Fatima #

    Made this! Extremely light yet filling coz of the eggs. Great option for breakfast! Thank you 🙂

    November 11, 2013
  10. Jackie #

    This was my first visit and I will be back…loved the recipes and the banter….would love to have the recipe for creamy kale soup.

    December 3, 2013
    • Hi Jackie! I’m so happy that you’ve found me. Thanks for your vote for the creamy kale soup …I’ll put it in the lineup!

      December 3, 2013
  11. Nicole #

    Would both tomatoes be one serving? Or is the calorie count just one?

    December 3, 2013
    • Both tomatoes are considered one serving.

      December 3, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Baked Tomato & Egg Breakfast « RealFooding.net
  2. Spicy Egg stuffed Tomatoes | Canada Girl Eats Paleo
  3. Hearty Post-Run Breakfast | Happy Green Runner
  4. 15 Tasty Morning Recipes with Eggs

Leave a Reply

