Skip to content
Paleo Cranberry Salsa and Chips

Get ready to take your snacking to the next level. We’re going to talk paleo chips and salsa – holiday style.

Chips and salsa are staples in Texas. It’s what you whip out to curb your appetite for an after school snack, Saturday football game munchie, or the ravenous pre dinner I’m-too-hungry-to-wait feigned starvation (guilty).

In an effort to continually diversify my pallet, I tried …and then loved… cranberries.

How did I go so long without knowing how amazing cranberries are? In case you’re as confused as I was, there is not an orchard of cranberry trees that grows can-shaped maroon goo for decorating our dinner table during Thanksgiving and Christmas (usually found next to the mini sweet pickle decoration – YUCK).

Cranberries are in fact these crisp tart little bites of heaven that we should all enjoy more often.

Although my friends teased me that my next recipe would read:

Ingredients:

1 Bag Raw Cranberries

Directions:

Open and eat.

I won’t do that to you.

Instead, I give you … the Cranberry Salsa.

I came across the recipe below for paleo chips at Jen’s Gone Paleo. I made a couple changes to the flavors. These chips work really well with the salsa.

When the chips run out, save the rest of the salsa for your next salad. Top a bed of field greens with leftover turkey and a generous spoonful of Cranberry Salsa. Yum!

DSC_0065

DSC_0049

DSC_0117

DSC_0089

Paleo Cranberry Salsa and Chips

Approximate Nutrition Facts:

Serving size: 3 Tbl Salsa + 3 Large Chips

Makes 3.5 cups of salsa & 24 large chips

135 Calories; 10 g Fat; 3.7 g Protein; 1 g Sugar

Ingredients:

Cranberry Salsa

3 cups Raw Cranberries

½ cup Chopped Red Onion

½ cup Chopped Fresh Cilantro

3 Medium Limes Juiced

2 tsp Fresh Orange Zest

2 Tbl Orange Juice

2 Jalapenos Finely Diced (deseeded)

2 tsp Kosher Salt

2 tsp Cracked Black Pepper

Paleo Chips

(Adapted from Jen’s Gone Paleo)

1/4 cup Almond Flour

1/4 cup Ground Flax Seeds

1/4 cup Sesame Seeds

1/4 cup Ground Sesame Seeds

1/4 cup Ground Pumpkin Seeds

1/2 tsp Light Chili Powder

1/2 tsp Garlic Powder

1/2 tsp Onion Powder

1/4 cup Water

1 Tbl Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 tsp Kosher Salt

Directions:

Cranberry Salsa

Roughly chop the cranberries in a food processor.

Stir in the red onions, cilantro, jalapenos, lime juice, orange zest, orange juice, salt, and pepper.

Pour in a bowl and enjoy!

Paleo Chips

Preheat oven to 375 F.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl.

Add the water and oil then evenly combine.

The mixture will be sticky.

Place about 1 Tbl of the mixture evenly on the baking sheet and smash with another piece of parchment paper and a rolling pin.

Bake for 15 minutes, or until crisp.

Transfer to a wire rack and let cool.

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Bake Time: 15 minutes

DSC_0048

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Chikachef #

    Yum! Love cranberries and these chips look and sound great. Thanks.

    December 13, 2012
  2. Sue L #

    We’ve been eating grain free about 4 months and I have been seriously missing crackers. These are really good! Mine didn’t look quite as pretty though not far off. I probably could have let them cook a bit more to brown them up and I’m missing the dark bits -black sesame maybe? I will definately be making these again. Maybe with the cranberry salsa next time. Thank you for the recipe!

    September 30, 2013
    • I’m so glad you liked the chips! The black bits are from the flax seed meal, I believe. Keep up the great work!

      October 3, 2013
  3. Renee #

    This is perfect for a Thanksgiving appetizer. Can’t wait!

    November 27, 2013
  4. sarah #

    So salty! Is it just me or is the salsa really salty? I swear I followed the recipe- but man. So salty. I’m going to try to add the rest of my cranberries to it to desaltify. But other than that, good! The chip/crackers were tasty.

    December 5, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sesame Seed-Crusted Snapper | Fed and Fit
  2. fitbeauties | What I Made Sunday Dec 22nd

Leave a Reply

