Skip to content
Paleo Dark Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies

Dark chocolate? Check.

Nutty goodness? Check.

Paleo? Check. (…well, depends on who you ask. I put dark chocolate and honey into the “acceptable with moderate use” category)

Ooey gooey deliciousness that takes you back to childhood cookie heaven? CHECK.

This past weekend, I had the distinct honor and privilege of observing the wedding of one of my very best friends as her bridesmaid.

Before I departed for the extended weekend of pre-wedding pampering and slave labor (totes kidding), I took the bride’s favorite cookie and turned it into a guiltless treat.

Julie, the beautiful bride, LOVES Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies.

I got to work.

What I wound up with is one of the tastiest paleo conversions E.V.E.R. This recipe is foolproof and I promise you’ll put it on repeat. I did … not a week has gone by and I’ve made it twice. Whoopsie.

DSC_0161

The wedding was absolutely beautiful. Champagne flowed like water; blessings were numerous, heartfelt, and hilarious; and the bride couldn’t have been more radiant.

Even though at the last minute Julie asked: “can Xanax be my something blue?” everything was seamless.

We toasted!

DSC_0244

We took pictures of her gorgeous little girl, Bina.

DSC_0377

We connected with old friends.

{That’s me in the bright blue, the bride in cream, our bestie Morgan in navy, and the hilarious and precious Missy in front.}

DSC_0622

We posed for more pictures than you can shake a stick at.

It was a blast.

I wish Bryan and Julie all the happiness in the world. You both deserve it. Thank you for making me a part of your special day.

Okay, back to the cookies …

DSC_0223

DSC_0189

DSC_0106

DSC_0119

DSC_0122

DSC_0126

DSC_0127

DSC_0132

DSC_0137

DSC_0139

DSC_0143

DSC_0017

Paleo Dark Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies

Makes ~24 Cookies

Ingredients:

3 cups Sifted Almond Meal

1 cup Dark Chocolate Chips (I prefer Ghirardelli 60%)

1 cup Chopped Walnuts

¼ tsp Kosher Salt

½ tsp Baking Soda

1/3 cup Honey

2 Tbl Virgin Coconut Oil (melted)

½ tsp Vanilla Extract

1 Egg

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (or aluminum foil).

In a large bowl, thoroughly mix the dry ingredients together with a fork. Includes: almond meal, salt, and baking soda.

Add the chocolate chips and chopped walnuts to the dry mixture and stir evenly.

In a separate bowl, whisk the wet ingredients together (honey, oil, vanilla extract, and egg).

You may need to heat the honey and oil in order to liquefy them. 30 seconds in the microwave will do. Be sure to heat BEFORE you add the egg.

Make a crater in the center of the dry ingredients and pour in the whisked wet ingredients.

Stir the wet ingredients into the dry until evenly mixed.

Using a 1 Tbl scoop or a spoon, spoon out balls of the dough and align them on the baking sheet.

Using either the palm of your hand or the back of a spoon greased with a little coconut oil, smash the balls of cookie dough down. Because the cookies don’t expand much during baking, the shape you make will stick.

Bake for 15 minutes then let cool for at least 5 minutes.

The cookies will not come off the parchment paper (or aluminum foil) very easily if they’re too warm.

Time: 15 minutes prep

Bake Time: 15 minutes

Cheers to Bryan, Julie, and Paleo Dark Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies.

DSC_0634

DSC_0003

51 Comments Post a comment
  1. Julie SANSONE! #

    It was an honor to have you, my love and an honor to eat the H out of those cookies!!! Cannot wait to make these for my new hubby and for our next gathering, which will be sooner than later – cheers!!

    January 30, 2013
  2. I really adore the fact that paleo is catching on with EVERYONE these days!! 😀

    February 1, 2013
    • Me too, pretty lady! I’m spreading the paleo love one batch of cookies at a time 🙂

      February 2, 2013
  3. those cookies look amazing…pretty sure when my whole 30 is up on march 8th this is going to be first on my to cheat list…

    March 5, 2013
    • Thanks, Sara! Good luck with the rest of your Whole 30. That’s the next challenge on my list 🙂

      March 5, 2013
  4. Cecilie #

    So I made these yesterday, and I had problems. When it came to mixing wet with dry, it seemed that I didn’t had wet enough at ALL. I ended up putting in an extra egg, but still it looked nothing like the dough in the picture…..what did I do wrong??

    July 27, 2013
    • Hi Cecilie! Thanks for your comment. Not being in the kitchen with you, it’s difficult to say where it went wrong. These cookies have been made hundreds of times by myself and other readers, so I know the ingredients are correct. It’s possible that if you didn’t liquify the coconut oil and honey {a short spell in the microwave will do this …~20 sec}, than it wouldn’t have mixed well with the dry ingredients. They definitely don’t need an extra egg though. Remember, also, that paleo batter is much thicker than regular/gluten cookie batter. I hope that helps some and that they work out better next time!

      July 29, 2013
      • Cassandra Grabowski #

        This also just happened to me! I feel like it should be 2 cups of flour instead of three or something. The batter just looks crumbly. 😦

        September 20, 2013
      • Hi Cassandra! I’m sorry the batter didn’t work out for you. Make sure all your wet ingredients are melted before you add them to the dry. That may help!

        September 23, 2013
  5. Tracy #

    I would like to try this recipe but I’m deathly allergic to walnuts. Can I just omit them without having to replace with anything else or should I use more almond flour in their place?

    September 3, 2013
    • Hi Tracy! You can just leave the walnuts out. I’ve made them many times with just the chocolate chips. Hope you love ’em!

      September 3, 2013
  6. Suzanne #

    Oh my goodness, these cookies are the BEST!!! I made them yesterday for the first time, my husband walks in the door & says awe you made me cookies. I smiled and said of course honey. He took 2 cookies & then came back and asked if he could have 4 more. Then later that evening he says, where are MY COOKIES, I need a snack!! Let me tell you this man is a cookie man and knows his cookies, well so he thought he did!! LOL If these cookies can fool my husband into thinking they are his Toll House Chocolate Chip homemade cookies, no one else will be able to tell any difference & they are H E A L T H Y. Thank you so much for sharing such an amazing recipe!!!

    September 17, 2013
    • That’s hilarious! Thanks for sharing, Suzanne. I’m so glad you guys liked them.

      September 17, 2013
  7. Tara #

    Made these today! So good I had a hard time not eating them all!! Do you have a calorie count per serving? THANK YOU

    September 29, 2013
    • Hi Tara! I’m so glad you liked the cookies! I don’t have a calorie count handy but I can try to figure an approximate up. I’ll be back in touch!

      September 29, 2013
  8. Jo Ashwin #

    I dont have any baking soda! Does it matter? New to baking so please excuse my lack of knowledge! Also, just wanted to mention I have been doing the paleo diet for a little over a month now and used a lot of your recipies…I feel great and can’t ever imagine going back to my old diet. So thank you for the inspiration! Jo x

    October 12, 2013
    • Your comment just made my day. Stories like yours are the reason I started my blog in the first place. Can’t thank you enough for your comment! The baking soda is pretty important to the cookies – it helps keep them fluffy instead of flat and dense. Do you have any baking powder? If so, try using 3/4 tsp to substitute. Not that I’ve tried this before, but that would be my first step for an experiment. Please let me know how they come out! And if you stop by the store for some baking soda, I’m sure they’ll come out perfectly. Congratulations on your lifestyle change and keep up the great work!

      October 12, 2013
  9. How important is it to sift the almond flour? It took forever and killed my sifter last time I tried it.

    October 13, 2013
    • You can sift with a whisk in a bowl! New trick I learned. I think it’s important because it helps keep the cookies fluffy.

      October 13, 2013
  10. Katherin.keddington #

    Food paleo cookies- kids loved!

    October 13, 2013
    • That’s awesome feedback!! Thanks, Katherine.

      October 17, 2013
  11. I was on the way to bed when I found this on Pinterest Guess now I will be up baking for awhile…

    October 14, 2013
  12. Tania Lund #

    I just completed the inaugural Oxfam Trailwalker 100 km event in Perth Western Australia this weekend. My team and I completed this very challenging event in one go and these cookies where such a highlight – especially at 1:30 am and about to hike a very challenging section. Thanks so much for sharing. Love your site.

    October 22, 2013
    • Tania Lund #

      Sorry, “were such a highlight”

      October 22, 2013
    • Hi Tania! Wow! That is the neatest story. Congratulations to you and your friends for completing the 100 km event! I haven’t been to Australia, but it’s on my list. I’m so glad you all liked the cookies. Warms my heart to know that a little tasty Paleo love made its way across the globe. Thanks so much for your comment. Made my day.

      October 22, 2013
  13. Julie S #

    I know your recipe calls for Almond MEAL, but looking at your pictures it definitely looks like Almond FLOUR to me. I think some people use these terms interchangeably, but they really are two different things and give food different consistencies. I’m going to make them now with the FLOUR, but if you wouldn’t mind clarifying, that would be great! Thanks!

    November 10, 2013
    • You’re right! The more fine almond flour is what I usually use, though either will result in a tasty cookie 🙂

      November 10, 2013
  14. Terran #

    So, I’ve made these delicious cookies a few times now (thank you!), but I’ve added an extra egg every time… I’m using Red Mill almond flour, which might not be as fine as what you have been using and therefore needs a little more moisture? Regardless, it’s been a great recipe for me. The only real problem is that you end up eating so many of these cookies it kind of defeats the purpose of a paleo treat:)

    November 24, 2013
    • Hi Terran! Thank you for your feedback! I’m glad you found a modification that works for you. I have the same problem with these cookies – they vanish! Happy you like them 🙂

      November 25, 2013
  15. Tina #

    You are a genius. These are by far the BEST chocolate chip cookies paleo/primal/gluten free or otherwise. I used the Red Mill almond flour (a little more course than most) and followed your recipe to the T and they came out amazing. I’ve already made two batches and shared them and nobody had any clue they were made without wheat flour or processed sugar. Thank you so much for the great recipe!!

    December 3, 2013
    • What awesome feedback!! Thanks, Tina! I’m thrilled that you liked them. Happy baking 🙂

      December 3, 2013
  16. jennifer #

    OMG!!!! Cookies haven’t come out of the oven yet but the batter is yummy!! Totally making these for our paleo holiday treat exchange. Thanks

    December 5, 2013
  17. Linda #

    The cookies just came out of the oven, they look amazing!! I said to my daughter they probably wont taste amazing, but they do!!!!!! Such an easy recipe, followed everything to a tee, next time I would cut back on the choc chips (a little too chocolatety for me) Thanks for posting the recipe!!

    December 9, 2013
  18. Manda #

    So my first batch didn’t come out 😦 but they may be because I was using coconut fllour? I didn’t have any almond flour, so I just substituted with the coconut. I followed everything else on the recipe and melted my wet ingredients just like you said, but when I added the two together it seemed like I had too much dry ingredients and not enough wet ingredients. I did the wet ingredients a second time and it was a little better but still too dry. Do you know what could of happened? Could it have been the coconut flour? Thanks for the help!

    December 16, 2013
    • Tina #

      In my experience, you need a LOT less coconut flour than almond flour. If you used the same amount, that was your problem right there. Personally, coconut flour in cookies is not my favorite. I prefer to use coconut flour in muffin or cake type recipes as the result is a much softer, cakier, a bit dryer texture. The one cookie recipe I used with coconut flour called for only 1/3 cup and it made about a dozen cookies.

      December 17, 2013
  19. Kim #

    I’m confused. I thought Paleo also meant no soy, dairy, or cane sugar. Those chocolate chips have all of that. They’re not paleo.

    January 15, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Loaded Paleo Sweet Potato Skins | Fed and Fit
  2. A Weekend in the Life of Paleo Sea Salted Nutella Stuffed Cookies | Clean eating with a dirty mind
  3. Charred Turnip Greens & Lemon | Fed and Fit
  4. Fed & Fit Lately | Fed and Fit
  5. Paleo Snack: Dark Chocolate Chip and Walnut Cookies | The Samsanator Cooks
  6. The Best Thing Fed & Fit Ever Ate! « Popular Paleo
  7. Apple Cinnamon Cookies | Paleo Cooking for the Modern Hungry Lady
  8. 15 of the Best Paleo Christmas Cookies Recipes
  9. The 30 Clean – Holiday’s… Here we Come!
  10. 21 Ways To Have A Paleo Christmas
  11. 10 Paleo Cookie Recipes That Will Blow Your Mind | GossipViews.com
  12. 10 Paleo Cookie Recipes That Will Blow Your Mind - zdouf!
  13. Jeobox – 10 Paleo Cookie Recipes That Will Blow Your Mind
  14. 10 Paleo Cookie Recipes That Will Blow Your Mind | sooziQ

Leave a Reply

