Skip to content
Paleo Paloma

Happy Birthday to ME!

Today I’m 27 …on the 27th!

27 is my lucky number. I always chose 27 for my kid soccer jersey, I’m convinced that God is giving me a direct, “hay, girl, haay,” when I happen to glance at the clock at exactly 3:27, and I really only take fortune cookies seriously if 27 is one of the numbers on the back.

Yes, I’m a crazy person; but it’s my birthday and I can be crazy if I want to! I work with a fella who swears that some of the most pivotal life experiences happen in your 27th year. He thinks I’ll either get married or have a kid. Bah! Funny guy.

I will say that I do have a few big plans for year 27:

  1. Austin (boifriend) and I are moving into a house together! The two of us plan to share a house with all my dishes, shoes, and our sweet kissy polar bear, Gus. We’ve been dating long-distance for about a year and half (2 years, if you ask him), so this will be a very refreshing and exciting change.
  2. Take this blog more seriously! You guys … big plans are in the works. Stay tuned and patient with me. What to expect? A new website, new brand, cooking videos, more helpful publications, and maybe even a little STUFF. I’m stoked.
  3. Get a friggin’ muscle up! With my birthday twin and trusted CrossFit Coach Emily’s help, I know this will happen. {like … exact bday … same day, same year … isn’t that neat? … happy birthday, Emily!!}

I’d decided that all I want for my birthday is a little CrossFit and a margarita. Emily too.

Status:

  • CrossFit – check! PR’d my split jerk this morning and I’m officially in the club of people who can move more than their bodyweight overhead. Boom.
  • Margarita – it’s a little early, but fear not! Before the day is over, I’ll find one. In the meantime, here’s some Mexican cocktail eye candy:

DSC_0893

I give you one of my favorite margarita alternative recipes, the Paleo Paloma.

What’s a Paloma, you ask? A Paloma is a sweet fizzy drink of tequila and grapefruit-flavored soda. I like mine on the rocks with salt …and keep ‘em coming.

I was excited when Bon Appetite named the Paloma as one of the leading cocktails of 2013. More people need to experience the Paloma magic. These suckers are taaaaasty.

I paleo-ized the cocktail by using fresh grapefruit juice, mineral water instead of soda, and honey instead of other processed sugary options.

Happy Spring, happy birthday all you March babies, and happy Paleo Paloma day.

Cheers!

Cassandra

DSC_0898

DSC_0861

To start, dip the rim of each glass in water or smear with a fresh grapefruit slice then press down in a bed (or bowl) of kosher salt. Shake off the excess and then fill each glass ¾ full of ice. Next, juice the grapefruits into a bowl.

DSC_0863

Using a whisk, stir the honey into just the grapefruit juice. The whisk and acid of the grapefruit juice helps the honey dissolve – avoiding that dreaded “honey sludge” at the bottom of a glass.

DSC_0867

Choose your favorite mineral water. I like Topo Chico.

DSC_0873

Pour the mineral water in with the honey grapefruit mixture. Stir slightly.

DSC_0883

Pour the mixture over the iced glasses, garnish with a grapefruit slice (lime works too) and enjoy!

DSC_0904

Paleo Paloma

Serves 4

Ingredients:

1 cup Fresh Grapefruit Juice (about 1.5 grapefruits)

1 cup Cold Mineral Water

1 tsp Honey (optional)

6 fl oz. Silver Tequila (4 shots)

Kosher Salt for Rim

Grapefruit Discs for Garnish

Ice

Directions:

To start, dip the rim of each glass in water or smear with a fresh grapefruit slice then press down in a bed (or bowl) of kosher salt. Shake off the excess and then fill each glass ¾ full of ice.

Juice the grapefruits into a bowl.

Using a whisk, stir the honey into just the grapefruit juice. The whisk and acid of the grapefruit juice helps the honey dissolve – avoiding that dreaded “honey sludge” at the bottom of a glass.

Choose your favorite mineral water. I like Topo Chico.

Pour the mineral water in with the honey grapefruit mixture. Stir slightly.

Pour the mixture over the iced glasses, garnish with a grapefruit slice (lime works too) and enjoy!

Time: 5 minutes

DSC_0918

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Happy Birthday! And happy birthday to Emily! I didn’t realize y’all were CrossFit buds. I used to to do CrossFit with her and Jeremy when I was in SA. Small world.

    March 27, 2013
  2. Soooo refreshing for SPRING! 😀

    March 29, 2013
  3. michelledvk #

    Drinking this at this very moment – Topo Chico and all! Very tasty!!

    March 30, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Paleo Stuffed Avocados with Cilantro Cream Sauce | Fed and Fit

Leave a Reply

